Two plugins cannot co-exist
Unlike doing a plugin update, you cannot simply upload the new, forked version to your site. ClassicPress will see that plugin already exists and not allow you to install it.
You have to deactivate and then delete the current plugin, before you can upload and activate the new one.
Preserving plugin settings
Some plugins give you the option to keep your customized settings in the database when deactivating and deleting the plugin. Please check if yours does. If not, you may be lucky and they will remain in your database anyway. It’s always a good idea to backup your database before making any changes, just in case.
If you want to ensure your custom settings are retained, there is a simple way to do this. Deactivate the current plugin, then go into your cPanel or equivalent’s File Manager and rename the current plugin folder. For example:
You can now install your new plugin and there won’t be a clash. Because you didn’t delete the original plugin, its settings remain in the database. It also means you can easily revert back to the original one if you have a problem with the new one.
If everything is working correctly, you can delete the elementor.old folder and all its contents.
The plugins we fork will not receive updates, because new releases won’t work on WP 4. So you will remain on the current version forever. In the event a security vulnerability has been reported that also affects the forked version, then we will issue a new version.
To ensure you are notified when a plugin is updated, please go to the blog post for the plugin and click on the link “Subscribe to Comments” without needing to comment first.